Skip to Content
University of Oregon

Participating Faculty

Participating Faculty teach courses and conduct research in other UO departments, addressing international issues in ways that complement the mission of the International Studies Program. Their courses can be especially useful to our students in fulfilling major requirements. Participating faculty can be of help to International Studies students with questions on particular world regions or on themes that require global, transnational, or cross-cultural perspective.

Carlos Aguirre, Dept: History, Latin American Studies; Region: Latin America; caguirre@uoregon.edu

Sean Anthony, Dept: History; Region: Middle East/Islamic World; swanthon@uoregon.edu

Ina Asim, Dept: History, Asian Studies; Region: China, East Asia; Themes: archaeology, material culture, intellectual history, gender; inaasim@uoregon.edu

Kemi Balogun, Dept: Women & Gender Studies, Sociology; Themes: gender, cultural sociology, race/ethnicity, immigration; kbalogun@uoregon.edu

Erin Beck, Dept: Political Science; Region: Central America; beck@uoregon.edu

Aletta Biersack, Dept: Anthropology; Region: the Pacific Islands; Themes: gender, mining, historical anthropology, political ecology; abiersac@uoregon.edu

Bruce Blonigen, Dept: Economics; bruceb@uoregon.edu

Lindsay Braun, Dept: History; Region: Africa; lfbraun@uoregon.edu

Dan Buck, Dept: Geography, Asian Studies; Region: Asia; danielb@uoregon.edu

Alfredo Burlando, Dept: Economics; Region: Latin America; burlando@uoregon.edu

Mark Carey, Dept: Robert D. Clark Honors College; Region: Latin America;carey@uoregon.edu

Shankha Chakraborty, Dept: Economics; shankhac@uoregon.edu

Liska Chan, Dept: Landscape Architecture; chan@uoregon.edu

Shaul Cohen, Dept: Geography; Region: Middle East; Themes: political, environmental, cultural Geography; scohen@uoregon.edu

Rick Colby, Dept: Religious Studies; Region: Middle East; fscolby@uoregon.edu

Jane Cramer, Dept: Political Science; jkcramer@uoregon.edu

Robert Davis, Dept: Romance Languages; Region: Spain; Themes: Spanish and Romance linguistics, second-language methodology and teaching; rldavis@uoregon.edu

Andre Djiffack, Dept: Romance Languages; Region: Africa; Themes: Francophone literature in Africa, 20th-century French literature, colonial and postcolonial studies; djiffack@uoregon.edu

Chris Ellis, Dept: Economics; Themes: public economics, political economy, evolution of economic and political institutions; cjellis@uoregon.edu

Maram Epstein, Dept: East Asian Languages & Literature; Region: China; maram@uoregon.edu

John Foster, Dept: Sociology; Themes: Imperialism, ecological crisis, environment, Marxism, political economy; jfoster@uoregon.edu

Alisa Freedman, Dept: East Asian Languages & Literature; Region: Japan; alisaf@uoregon.edu

Ibrahim Gassama, Dept: School of Law; Region: Africa; Themes: human rights, foreign policy, and international economic development; igassama@law.uoregon.edu

Lisa Gilman, Dept: English; Region: southern Africa (Malawi); Themes: intersections between performance and artistic forms, power, and gender; lmgilman@uoregon.edu

Bryna Goodman, Dept: History, Asian Studies; Region: China; bgoodman@uoregon.edu

Sangita Gopal, Dept: English; Region: South Asia; sgopal@uoregon.edu

Jeff Hanes, Dept: History; Region: Japan; hanes@uoregon.edu

Susan W. Hardwick, Dept: Geography; Region: Canada and the former Soviet Union; Themes: Transnational immigration patterns and issues, especially refugee settlement and adaptation in British Columbia and other parts of the Pacific Northwest; susanh@uoregon.edu

Robert Haskett, Dept: History; Region: Latin America; rhaskett@uoregon.edu

Michael Hibbard, Dept: Planning, Public Policy, and Management (PPPM); Themes: sustainable development, healthy economies and healthy ecosystems in rural areas and small towns; mhibbard@uoregon.edu

David Hollenberg, Dept: Religious Studies; Region: Middle East; dbh@uoregon.edu

Lamia Karim, Dept: Anthropology; Region: South and Southeast AsiaThemes: Globalization, gender, development, NGOs, state, Islam, human rights, nationalism, postcolonial theory; lamia@uoregon.edu

Craig Kauffman, Dept: Political Science; Region: Ecuador; ckauffma@uoregon.edu

Karrie Koesel, Dept: Political Science; koesel@uoregon.edu

Nicolas Larco, Dept: Architecture; nlarco@uoregon.edu

Jeff Magoto, Dept: Yamada Language Center; Themes: Language training; jmagoto@uoregon.edu

Gabriela Martinez, Dept: Journalism; Region: Latin America; gmartine@uoregon.edu

Karen McPherson, Dept: Romance Languages; Region: France, francophone world (Quebec, French Caribbean); Themes: modern French and Francophone cultures, gender studies, memory and mourning, autobiography, postcolonial literatures; ksmcpher@uoregon.edu

Katherine Meehan, Dept: Geography; Region: Mexico; meehan@uoregon.edu

Ronald Mitchell, Dept: Political Science; Region: International Relations; Themes: international environmental politics, international institutions and organizations; rmitchel@uoregon.edu

Alec Murphy, Dept: Geography; Region: Europe; Themes: cultural and political geography, law and geography; abmurphy@uoregon.edu

Michael Najjar, Dept: Theatre Arts; Region: Middle East; mnajjar@uoregon.edu

Kevin Nute, Dept: Architecture; knute@uoregon.edu

Eileen Otis, Dept: Sociology; Region: China; otis@uoregon.edu

Craig Parsons, Dept: Political Science; Region: Europe; Themes: comparative politics, regional integration, ideas and institutions; cap@uoregon.edu

Doris Payne, Dept: Linguistics; Region: East Africa, South America; Themes: language documentation, language and culture; dlpayne@uoregon.edu

Eric Pederson, Dept: Linguistics; Region: India; Themes: cognitive and psycholinguistics, language and culture, South Indian languages; epederso@uoregon.edu

Phil Scher, Dept: Anthropology; Region: Caribbean; Themes: politics of culture, transnationalism; pscher@uoregon.edu

Carol Silverman, Department: Anthropology; Region: Balkans (SE Europe); csilverm@uoregon.edu

Lars Skalnes, Dept: Political Science; lskalnes@uoregon.edu

Alison Snyder, Dept: Architecture; Themes: Ancient, design, light, ancient and modern sacred space and vernacular structures; absny@uoregon.edu

Leslie Steeves, Dept: School of Journalism; Region: Africa; Themes: international communication, third world development communications, women, minorities, and media; lsteeves@uoregon.edu

Lynne Stephen, Dept: Anthropology; Region: Latin America; Themes: ethnicity and political economies, gender, U.S. Latinos; stephenl@uoregon.edu

Jeffrey Stolle, Dept: College of Business; Region: East Asia; Themes: business ethics & law, leadership & communication; jstolle@uoregon.edu

Xiaobo Su, Dept: Geography; Region: China; xiaobo@uoregon.edu

Surendra Subramani, Dept: Education; surendra@uoregon.edu

Tuong Vu, Dept: Political Science; Region: Asia; Themes: state formation, political economy of development, rural and agrarian politics, contentious politics, Cold War foreign policy, religion and politics; thvu@uoregon.edu

Peter Walker, Dept: Geography; Region: Africa; Themes: cultural and political ecology, human-environmental relations, pwalker@uoregon.edu

Janis C Weeks, Dept: Biology; Region: Sub-Sarahan Africa; Themes: neuroscience, parasitic and infectious disease, HIV/AIDS, health care and health practices, mbira and marimba music of Zimbabwe; jweeks@uoregon.edu